Indian music – Love it or hate it?

Photo courtesy: Sukanto Debneith — Wikimedia Commons

One aspect that drove me to the end of my tether in India was Indian music. I’m not talking about the Ravi Shankar sita bita mita stuff. I mean the Bollywood Kollywood genre that pelted out from radios set at top volume with those high pitched female squealers. They were enough to drive me to toddy. Today, they are mostly what I listen to. The higher the pitch, like the unforgettable Lata, the more I like it.

Because high-pitched singers have gone out of vogue in Bollywood, I’ve turned to Kollywood. If you can adjust to the fusion of western moves mixed with classical Indian dance and the wailing of the shehnai, you’ll be in raptures like me. Oh, and as a bonus, it’s Dhanush again.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bI-fHhl4sJI

Leave a Reply

