South Indian masala dosa

I’ve tried making masala dosa but they always turned out the soggiest, floppiest hunk of cooked rice flour you’d ever manage to drop straight into the bin. So naturally, I’m on the look out for a good South Indian restaurant where I can savour that never forgotten flavour I first experienced in a Brahman restaurant in Rameswaram.

When I took my daughter to Singapore years back, we stumbled upon Komala Vilas and every day of our Singapore visit, we ate brunch there and again in the evening. Not only the dosas were to die for, but the uthappam and gulab jamun too. We were in seventh heaven.

When I start to get withdrawal symptoms, I can’t fly to South India or Singapore, but luckily, there’s a restaurant in downtown Vancouver that used to be called Saravanaa Bhavan.

Leave a Reply

