http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Buddhas_(India),_Asian_Art_Museum_(6001097854).jpg

My first sight of Buddha earlobes in South India

Photo courtesy: InSapphoWeTrust — Wikimedia Commons

When you’ve never seen a sight in your life before, it’s hard not to stare. That’s what a lot of people did to me when I first arrived in South India so well, it was okay for me to ogle too when I spotted the first woman I’d ever seen with Buddha earlobes.

She was a fisherwoman from Dhanushkodi who walked daily into Rameswaram to sell her fish. Her earlobes were laden with heavy gold that must have slowly stretched her lobes until they resembled Buddha’s and I couldn’t take my eyes off them. She roared with laughter at my reaction and carried on her conversation.

What have you seen that you couldn’t stop staring at?

One thought on “My first sight of Buddha earlobes in South India”

Leave a Reply

