India’s Pink City

Pink is my least favourite colour but after Gujarat, I headed for Jaipur on the clanking train route and forgave the city for being pink. This walled wonder contained exquisite buildings amongst the neglected present.

Eleven kilometres from Jaipur, crowning a hill, stood the Am(b)er Palace. The Rajah who built the palace, was obviously not as fond of pink as the Jaipur residence. Inside a mirrored room, I remember a guide closing the door and as I stood in the dark, he lit a candle and the room came alive like a glittering gem.

My only other remaining Jaipur memory is of standing outside Hawa Mahal in the heat and dust and feeling disappointed that I couldn’t venture inside the building. Yes, it was pink too.

Leave a Reply

