What’s happening to little girls?

Yesterday, while Tamil music cooed in my ears, I hiked around my stamping grounds, taking in the evidence of spring with utter delight.

When I neared completing my hour’s exercise around the lake, I spotted a mother with her camera poised on her four year old daughter. What surprised me, was how this tiny child automatically posed sitting on the cement border: legs crossed; hands clasped around her knees; head tilted.

Am I missing something here? I don’t ever remember my daughters in any pin-up pose. Where has this come from at such an early age? I don’t get it. Maybe it’s an age thing that I think little girls should remain little girls for longer than four years. What about you?

Lafarge Lake, Coquitlam
Lafarge Lake, Coquitlam

One thought on “What’s happening to little girls?”

  1. Hi Mallee, this is exactly what my husband and I were discussing the other day. Little girls here in Mumbai seem to be forced to grow up too soon , the same with little boys…from being dressed like little adults to being addicted to cell phones and laptops…their childhood seems to be lost in this labyrinth of modernity (at least my understanding of childhood).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

