A child’s impression of Borobudur

I thought I was clever going to Borobudur on Christmas day; after all, this was a Muslim country. I guess I hadn’t learned my lesson from the train from Bandung. Instead of no one being at the site, the Buddhist temple was over crowded. I soon realized, it was a holiday in Indonesia too.

We climbed to each monumental section of this ancient temple dating from the eighth and ninth century, where freezes clung to walls, a multitude of stupas crowned the summit, a vista of green surrounded us.

Not far into the stone labyrinth, I discovered my daughter thought this was the dullest place. She wanted to race to the shops below the temple, selling wristbands and other trinkets. Being an expert bargainer, she haggled the price down to half and once it was agreed, she renegotiated the price again for buying more than one. I don’t think the traders could resist her childish charm.

Inside each stupa or dagoba is a statue of Buddha on
Inside each stupa or dagoba is a statue of Buddha on

3 thoughts on “A child’s impression of Borobudur”

Leave a Reply

