Steamy, sooty Surakarta (sometimes Solo)

We should have bypassed this grungy city, but the one photo I have, was taken outside the batik market so I’m guessing I found my illusive piece of green batik here.

The heat was overwhelming so we went to a movie just to sit in the air- conditioning. Like the rest of Surakarta, the theatre was icky but at least the air-conditioning worked. We sat to watch a forgotten movie and I told my daughter we should put our feet up on the seat. I didn’t want to feel some furry creature scurry over my foot in the dark.

Leave a Reply

