A Hunger for History?

I was curious about historical Melaka; the boring stuff that hadn’t captured my interest at school. So it was understandable my daughter wasn’t impressed when I wanted to visit old Portuguese churches and the museum.

Melaka’s streets and buildings appeared dirty and neglected after well-kept KL. I remember walking across a bridge where  dilapidated houses stood either side of the river. While the tourist hubs were maintained, other areas of the city needed a face-lift. My daughter was relieved when we left.

I wonder if she’ll ever return interested in its historical Portuguese past? Not likely.

Leave a Reply

