Last look at Inuvik

Trees were scarce in Inuvik. Hey, we were right on the edge of the tundra. So I was delighted to discover a clump of boreal forest next to the tourist information centre on the edge of town. I lingered along the circuit that reminded me of Alberta’s forests. As well, on the opposite side of town from the mighty MacKenzie delta, were some low trees somewhere near the mosque.

I couldn’t imagine living in a place like Inuvik, especially during winter when there was no sunlight. But someone, who had lived there for decades, said their favourite time of year was winter. The place transformed into a snowy wonderland and they loved the feel of whizzing through the snow with a team of huskies.

This was not my kind of town but I’m glad I made the effort to go north. It gave me a tiny window into a life completely different from mine and I experienced a place like no other I have ever visited.

2 thoughts on “Last look at Inuvik”

  1. I’m with you. An interesting place to visit…but we did it for six weeks in the summer. Wouldn’t want the lack of light in winter. I hear people go up there for a reason though. If they’re there, they are meant to be there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

