The casual ambience of Dawson City

This outpost had a good Chinese, and equally good Greek restaurant as well as a supermarket that sold samosas. What more could I ask?  I clomped over wooden sidewalks for these food delights only a stone’s throw away from my hotel.

What made this city even better was I tried activities I’d never done before. I went to a First Nation jewellery making event. Sitting stitching beads on to a strip of animal hide was a fun experience. On another day, I went to Fran’s tea workshop where I was introduced to the benefits of dandelion as well as other pickings from the forest that set me on a new path.

The junction of the Yukon and Klondike Rivers
The junction of the Yukon and Klondike Rivers with a paddle steamer in the background

I walked the upper dyke most afternoons as there was nothing more relaxing than being near moving water. This dyke was built because in the winter, the Yukon froze and in the spring when the ice began to melt, the city had flooded in the past.

Inevitably, after the walk when I found a bench, someone would start talking to me. I’d learn a little more about what brought people to the town, what kept them in this isolated location, and about some of the colourful characters.

Leave a Reply

