A view of the Yukon River from the Dome

I hiked the built-up dyke, past the swirling Yukon as far as the tailings at the junction with the Klondike River; piles of stones left by gold seekers.

Tailings near the Klondike River
Tailings near the Klondike River

Journeying on foot, I trudged up to The Dome, a lookout where the Yukon River wound it’s way below.After finally reaching the top, I was rewarded with a serene vista but couldn’t help worry about how I would find the energy to walk all the way back down because there was no bus service. As if reading my thoughts, someone offered me a ride. Thanks to a retired teacher, his son and girlfriend, I didn’t have to drop with exhaustion after reaching the bottom.

Yukon River from The Dome
Yukon River from The Dome

One thought on “A view of the Yukon River from the Dome”

Leave a Reply

