Skagway decision

My plan before this trip, was to see the Arctic Ocean up in Tuktoyaktuk, then return through Dawson City to Whitehorse. After that, I had no idea. Only when I reached Skagway, did I decide to exit by ferry from the port in the direction of home.

I stayed in a cute, once a brothel hotel, and while having breakfast the following morning, was reminded I was in Alaska, U.S.A. A woman nearby, talked incessantly about the guns she and her husband had brought on the trip. It wasn’t my kind of breakfast conversation.

View heading towards Dyea
View heading towards Dyea

I made a hasty exit and to avoid the cruise ship crowds, drove to Dyea. Now a ghost town, it had once been the jumping off point for prospectors who took the shorter but more dangerous route to Lake Bennett on their way to the goldfields. Although picturesque and peaceful, there were few tell tale remnants of the earlier days.

Leave a Reply

