Saraguro cave hike

Sanaguro was a quaint town with the usual open square and church at its centre. Perched in the southern end of the Andes, this town was tourist free, except for me. I had a luxurious room perched on a high point just near the outskirts of town so that I could hang about the quaint market, then retreat to my quiet room.

IMG_1037
Local Saraguro woman and her cute baby

I read there were interesting caves in the area so found the trail just out of town and climbed to a mere opening in the side of a hill. Definitely not the best caves I’d ever seen but I met some interesting local people. One person tried to convince me there was a site worth seeing just over the hill. But when I met a woman along the road, she set me straight, that it was kilometres away.

3 thoughts on “Saraguro cave hike”

Leave a Reply

