Saskatoon

Driving north-west, I couldn’t forget I was in dead centre prairie country because the land stretched as flat as a table top.

Near Leader, Saskatchewan
Near Leader, Saskatchewan

I was on my way to Saskatoon that turned out to be better than Regina because of the South Saskatchewan River on its doorstep. I hiked the trails along the river but only when I walked around the town and saw the beware of falling ice sign, was I reminded that these prairie cities would transform come winter.

Saskatoon's reminder sign
Saskatoon’s reminder sign

The river would freeze over with -20 to -40 degree temperatures; the pelicans would head south; and daylight would end by four in the afternoon.

5 thoughts on “Saskatoon”

Leave a Reply

