Cypress Hills couldn’t cure my phobia

There were other places further north I could have ventured, but without realising it until I reached the Rockies, I was suffering from flat-phobia. Cypress Hills Interprovincial Park, shared by Saskatchewan and Alberta, didn’t cure it. While the forests, the hikes and the lookout were scenic, I hungered for higher mountains and taller trees.

Cypress Hills Interprovincial Park on the Saskatchewan side
Cypress Hills Interprovincial Park on the Saskatchewan side

When I told a dear friend I‘d visited her home province, she said, “Isn’t it beautiful?” As I nodded my head in agreement, flat-phobia crept up my chest so I had to take a few gasps of breath. Yes, it was beautiful, but I’m done with prairie provinces. At least I think I am – but then there’s Churchill, Manitoba where the polar bears hang out. Can I survive that flat landscape? I’ll keep you posted because maybe, just maybe, I’ll fly there. I definitely won’t drive over that endless flat land.

Cypress Hills Interprovincial Park
Cypress Hills Interprovincial Park

2 thoughts on “Cypress Hills couldn’t cure my phobia”

    1. But the Netherlands is small. I drove close to 3 000 kms along straight roads over a flat landscape. Cypress Hills was the only location not flat. But then I’m used to mountains, not hills and 70 metre trees. People from the prairies say they feel confined when they are in BC so it’s a matter of what you’re used to.

      Like

Leave a Reply

