Searching for Seoul’s soul

On the first leg of my flight to Australia, I walked through Seoul’s airport, practically alone. The marble floors of an airport constructed for the Olympics appeared surgically clean and echoed my footsteps.

Seoul from Seoul Tower
Seoul from Seoul Tower

My first stop was Seoul Tower where the huge city lay sprawled under a cloud of smog. The capital oozed traffic sounds that didn’t cease.

Seoul Tower seen from Namsambol Village, Seoul
Seoul Tower seen from Namsambol Village, Seoul

Hiking through Namsam Garden that surrounded the tower where I escaped the drone of cars, I discovered I had some catching up to do on South Korea’s past because here was an ancient wall that once protected the citizens from invaders.

Leave a Reply

