Namsambol Village of Traditional Houses

Surrounded by Seoul’s modern buildings, Namsambol Village was a step back in time. The artistic roofs and shaded verandas around the courtyard painted a glimpse into the past. I peered through windows and open doorways until it was time to eat.

I crossed to a restaurant where I ate delicious spinach with sesame seeds. Unfortunately, it was the only dish I enjoyed during my Korean stay. Perhaps if I was a bar-be-cue kind of person, it might have been different. I added kimchi but some how the food didn’t do anything for me. After several days of eating Korean food, I took two mouthfuls at a restaurant and walked out. I found Chinese or Japanese restaurants after that, surprised by my dislike because I had never reacted this way in any other country.

Leave a Reply

