Hiking the PoCo section of the Coquitlam River

I hadn’t walked this section in well over a year when I was still a volunteer with the Coquitlam River Watch and the path was lined with ice and snow. Now it was bright and sunny.

Cut out salmon along the PoCo section of the trail
Cut out salmon along the PoCo section of the trail

Under a bridge was a reminder of the river’s importance. Even along the footpath outlines of salmon indented the edge to signify to keep the river clean. From McAllister Foot Bridge in Port Coquitlam, children splashed and screamed in the shallow waters.

Salmon outline on the side of the PoCo section
Salmon outline on the side of the PoCo section of the path

Although the end of summer, flowers still bloomed. Bear warnings were still posted. When I heard the drone of traffic in the distance, I turn back to discover a lagoon (featured photo) on the opposite side of the trail. Quiet. Peaceful. This section was tree lined on both sides while closer to my starting point, parks and playing fields lay opposite the river.

This didn't make me turn back like the cougar sign
This didn’t make me turn back like the cougar sign

The laughter of children from the playground signalled the end of my walk. After all, I chose this section to exercise last week because of its proximity to the store where I wanted to purchase chat masala and kerala.

The Coquitlam River in Port Coquitlam
The Coquitlam River in Port Coquitlam

Leave a Reply

