To Gisborne and beyond

I drove to Gisborne after reading that houses had a distinctive Maori flavour but didn’t see much evidence of this even after an hour of searching. Instead I found an ugly statue of Captain Cook who set his greedy eyes on New Zealand and landed first at Gisborne.

Captain Cook's statue of where he first landed in New Zealand
Captain Cook’s statue of where he first landed in New Zealand

I drove on to Tauranga where I stayed on the harbour and walked around the small town of screeching seagulls. Near The Mount, I hiked the beach, stretching my numb legs after two days of constant driving since leaving Rotorua.

The best example I could find of the said Maori style house in Gisborne. Compare this to the feature photo of a Maori village.
The best example I could find of the said Maori style house in Gisborne. Compare this to the feature photo of a Maori village.

Leave a Reply

