Paihia and the Bay of Islands boat ride

I headed to the tiny town of Paihia amidst the Bay of Islands. Booked on a boat cruise the following morning, I foolishly stepped on to the launch even though I’d caught a bug the day before and felt queasy.

Hole in the Rock, Bay of Islands
Hole in the Rock, Bay of Islands

Lifting my head to gaze at a group of seals skimming through the water, I hung at the back of the boat to gulp fresh air. I managed to catch a glimpse of The Hole in the Rock and get the must have photographs before heaving over the side of the boat. This was no fun.

Maori greeting before stepping on to the launch, Paihia
Maori greeting before stepping on to the launch, Paihia

I spied porpoise rise in unison before disappearing below the deep green sea. Likewise, I dropped but to a couch, wrapped a woolen blanket around me I’d salvaged from the staff, and fell in and out of sleep until we arrived back on terra firma and into bed. This was clearly not my best New Zealand day although I was in a glorious location.

5 thoughts on “Paihia and the Bay of Islands boat ride”

Leave a Reply

