The fishing village of Howth

This seaside-fishing village was where I first thought to stay, away from busy Dublin. I wandered along the pebbly beach after my long hike, arriving at the marina where fishing boats idled in the warmth of the summer sun.

When I lunched at a local fish and chip café, I made notes, pages of them, it turned out, over the next ten days, but it wasn’t all notetaking.

I climbed to St Mary’s Abbey, strolling through the graves, and the remains of the roofless stone church.

Leave a Reply

