Cork’s Red Abbey

After I bused to Cork’s university, I walk back to the city. I passed the Red Abbey on the way. There wasn’t much to see except the 14th century tower but the area around the abbey, though not what would grasp a tourist’s attention, gave me a perfect setting for a small section of my story.

Statue of Mary near the Red Abbey, Cork
Statue of Mary near the Red Abbey, Cork

I wandered nearby streets where I was reminded of the very Catholic country I was in with its churches and statues of Mary along the street. In the window of houses hidden behind white lace curtains were plastic flowers that appeared to be a trend. I lost count of how many I passed.

Plastic flowers in a Cork window
Plastic flowers in a Cork window

Leave a Reply

