Bennettsbridge? Where’s that?

My daughter’s husband had a family connection to Bennettsbridge and when he spoke about his visit some years earlier, it sounded like a perfect setting.

Letterbox near the Catholic Church, Bennettsbridge
Letterbox near the Catholic Church, Bennettsbridge

I arrived to discover the only two B&Bs in this one street wonder, were fully booked because in Kilkenny, five kilometres away, an arts festival was in progress. As I had experienced everywhere, the woman at the B&B went out of her way until I had a place to stay a couple of kilometres out of the village. In fact, this was a blessing in disguise, as it was on a dairy farm, the very setting I needed.

I followed the owner as he milked the cows, asking questions before I walked around the village, took down names in the graveyard, crossed over the Nore River, sat beside the Nore and asked the B&B owner if I could accompany her to church. There we met one of my son-in-law’s relatives whom I asked if he minded if I dropped by the next day.

300 year old house I based the family farm on in my novel
300 year old house I based the family farm on in my novel

I had tea the following morning at the farm and it turned out my son-in-law’s relative had done some wonderful research on the area that was published in a series of books on local history. I was given a pile of these books and knew I was on my way with everything I needed for the third of the novel set in Ireland along with the photos I had of this cute village.

Leave a Reply

