Newfoundland’s Bonavista

Bonavista was a cute seaside town with a duck pond trail to skirt and a friendly restaurant where I learned how islanders knew how to tell who was from Newfoundland and who was a tourist. We tourists locked our cars, islanders never bothered.

I walked through the town deciding to treat myself to a lobster. While overfishing had ruined the cod industry on the Grand Banks, lobsters were still prolific. The fleshy meat tasted like it was right off the boat. In fact, I’m sure it must have been a bonanza year, because even MacDonalds sold the Mac lobster. I won’t admit how many times I ate this cheap treat.

IMG_0290
Bonavista salt boxhouse

Bonavista was full of traditional Newfoundland houses – the saltbox house. I enjoyed the town, but my reason for visiting this outpost, was still twenty kilometres away.

Leave a Reply

