Boyd’s Cove’s Beothuk past

The Beothuk were the original inhabitants of Newfoundland and I luckily stumbled upon the Beothuk Interpretive Centre in Boyd’s Cove. There was an interesting museum but what hit home was the spirit garden for the extinct people. Like other visitors before me, I tied an offering on the tree in their memory.

In one of my Canadian studies courses I was compelled to complete when I first came to Canada, I learned about the Beothuk. They covered their body in red clay to ward off mosquitoes and when Europeans arrived, they mistakenly gave them the name, red skins.

There was a connection between the Beothuk and Australian Aborigines of Tasmania because on both islands, the Europeans wanted to eradicate the native peoples. Unfortunately, in both instances they succeeded.

 

Leave a Reply

