Goose Cove’s labrador tea

 

South of St Anthony’s lay what looked like a typical coastal fishing village. There was a trail over rocky terrain where a couple gazed at the sea where whales danced.

a0df96f2eafe961c2432d8e6d1150e20
A common Newfoundland sight, lobster traps

I climbed to the top. Down the other side I spotted Labrador tea bushes near the back of some buildings. This was a famous tea that people once drank as a number of women told me, “My mother used to drink that.”

I’ve read its good for stress and rheumatic aches and pains but unfortunately, it doesn’t have a great deal of flavour. However, I harvested the leaves and still add a little to other teas to take in its natural benefits.

Leave a Reply

