Scooter City

 

I left five degree Vancouver and arrived in thirty degree Ho Chi Minh City to discover it’s really scooter city.

On my first day, I took a stroll to Ben Nghe River where Styrofoam undulated with water plants  when boats moved upstream. Fishers lined the walkway with their rods and nets.

IMG_0748
Nghe River, Ho Chi Minh City

Crossing roads was a challenge. While cars and scooters weaved around me ignoring the zebra crossings, the worst was to come. While I thought I was safe on the footpath, I soon learned, not in HCMC. When the traffic slowed, drivers zoomed on to the footpath. At one stage I found myself squeezed between two scooters going in the opposite direction.

IMG_0753
One of many drivers who rode the footpaths

Leave a Reply

