Vietnamese dads and daughters

I noticed something amazing once I arrived in Vietnam. Wherever I wandered, dads carried their children. I observed one dad working in a restaurant while carrying his child . On buses and trains, it was dads doing most of the parenting; even walking up and down the isle of a train with the child over their shoulder trying to get an infant to sleep.

IMG_0989
A proud Dalat dad of two daughters

And here’s something I wish Indian dads would take note of: Vietnamese dads seemed to give more attention and love to daughters; plus I saw loads of couples with one child who was more often a girl.

I was told families used to think like India where only the sons were important but that changed and I was impressed by the paradigm shift.

Come on India. Get with the times.

4 thoughts on “Vietnamese dads and daughters”

Leave a Reply

