Under 24 hour curfew

Photo courtesy: Jolie – wikimedia.org

Anuradhapura was an ancient Buddhist town with stupas studding the landscape and tanks spread around the outskirts filled with glistening water.

I didn’t get to see any of its beauty the morning after I arrived in the country because twenty-four hour curfew was imposed. Locked in a house, I could only peer out the window at an ugly gas station opposite.

Years later, when I began research for my novel, I learned that ninety police stations had been taken over by the insurgents who were mainly Sinhalese youth disenchanted with the government. A week later, the town was shut down with no food supplies coming in but I’d been lucky enough to escape before that occurred.

2 thoughts on “Under 24 hour curfew”

Leave a Reply

