Thinking of joining a writing group?

I’ve been working with writing groups for the last few years after struggling on my own for over a decade. My critique groups consist of authors at the beginning stages right up to those who have published a long list of books.

Often I forget how much other writers have taught me. Only last week, I re-edited a chapter I’d worked over several years back and was surprised by the flaws I’d previously been unaware of. It made me realise what I’d learned from my fellow writers.

I can’t stress how much I value their suggestions while at the same time I’m aware of their limitations. They only hear a section at a time of what I’m writing so they can’t gauge an entire manuscript.

My advice, however, is join a group if you’re serious about writing.

2 thoughts on “Thinking of joining a writing group?”

Leave a Reply

