Mamallapuram visit

I wandered for several hours through the main heritage site. It was a Friday and filled with more local adventurers than foreigners.

IMG_1648
Can you believe a minute before I took this photo, they were laughing and joking?

Where ever I ventured, I ended up in conversation. The previous afternoon I’d met a man from Kanyakumari who’d been to Chennai for a wedding. So the first party of relatives I met had been to a wedding there as well. They laughed and joked and kept taking photos with me included. It was only when I turned my camera on them all the smiles vanished.

IMG_1652
Resting in the shade from the 34 degree day near the lighthouse

Leave a Reply

