Vancouver’s Stanley Park

This is my daughter’s favourite park in the world. I get the attraction. It’s a huge 400 hectare site with a nearly nine kilometres of walk/cycle/roller blade trail that skirts the park plus internal trails. The view of the ocean and surrounding coastline is to die for and I’m impressed too.

IMG_1801
Along the Stanley Park Trail, Vancouver

I hiked part of the ocean view trail this week and liked the two paths: one for walkers and a separate for the faster cyclers. For me, it was a great park too but far from my favourite.

IMG_1805
Through the trees, Stanley Park

While there were shady cedars throughout the park, there were too many human intrusions for me. Picnic areas were cut into the once forested areas and restaurants located on scenic high points. But worst was the road running around the park and another noisy spot where continuous traffic crossed Lions Gate Bridge.

IMG_1804
North Vancouver from Stanley Park

Then again, this is the best any big city can do, I guess.

One thought on “Vancouver’s Stanley Park”

Leave a Reply

