A Taste of Vietnam

I’d been craving green mango salad almost as soon as I left Vietnam. The biting taste of raw green mango and carrot with a dash of chili was a flavor that lingered.

Heading along 8th Street SW in Calgary, I stumbled upon Balo Vietnamese Restaurant. While they didn’t have green mango salad on their menu, they had the next best — green papaya salad.

I finished with a Vietnamese coffee. If you’re not into super strong coffee with a dollop of condense milk, this isn’t for you. While in Vietnam this year, this very coffee hooked me, because I’m no longer a one-coffee-a- month person since my trip.

3 thoughts on “A Taste of Vietnam”

  1. I love Vietnamese noodle salad, the fresh one of course. Perhaps that’s the first thing I would like to try when visiting Vietnam 🙂 Green papaya salad is also delicious – now I am thinking to have it as my dinner!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

