Mouth Watering Maharagwe

While living in Dar es Salaam, I was invited to a Hindu friend’s house who ran a kitenge duka on Independence Avenue at that time. At lunch, I devoured a kidney bean curry like a taste bud smorgasbord.

After I left Dar, I wasn’t able to duplicate the flavoursome dish. What did I leave out? It wasn’t until a visit to my daughter’s when she asked if I’d make it, that I discovered the missing ingredient; the joy in cooking for someone you love. It turned out exactly as I remembered.

Leave a Reply

