Memorable Mumbai

Photo courtesy: Whitney Lauren — Wikimedia Commons

Have you ever visited a place and then years later, read a book set exactly in that location?

On my first encounter with Mumbai (Bombay back then), I convinced someone to accompany me to the city’s red light district. We trekked past The Cages, but within minutes, the atmosphere had that, why are you here atmosphere. We turned on our heels and raced away, but I have never forgotten those waiting women.20161211_144605

Recently, I read Anosh Irani’s latest novel, The Parcel, that transported me back to the very streets of this sordid area. His insight and beautiful story telling allowed me to capture this district’s essence within the safety of my world.

Leave a Reply

