Yoho National Park

I entered through Rogers Pass with a view of snow-capped mountains to the west and a glacier to the east. After Golden I reached Yoho National Park. Yoho’s a Cree word meaning awe or wonder, and that was exactly how I felt amidst the natural beauty.

20161231_095908
Emerald Lake, Yoho National Park

Natural Bridge where the Kicking Horse River rushed through a chasm, reminded me of the more placid Natural Arch in Australia. It wasn’t possible to swim though as the water was fierce. Next was Emerald Lake. The only lake I later saw to equal its iridescent colour was one by the same name in the Yukon. Surrounded by forest and a glacier above to feed the icy water, I was gobsmacked.

20161231_095520
Takakkan Falls, Yoho National Park

Yoho also had Canada’s second highest waterfall, Takakkan Falls. Water soared over a a 500 metres high cliff. I walked to the base where spray floated over the bubbling water that split into two rushing torrents.

For me, this was and still is the best national park in the province.

Leave a Reply

