Melbourne from a Rooftop

Climbing to the viewing platform around the Melbourne’s War Memorial, we had a 360 degree view of Melbourne.

IMG_2926
Towards the city and its tallest building, the Eureka

In every direction, there was greenery and a sense of order. Perhaps because Melbourne was only one of a handful of cities in Australia that were planned; Adelaide and Canberra the only other two I’m aware of.

IMG_2925
Looking away from the city along Birdwood and St Kilda Road

Along the skyline, Melbourne’s tallest building, the Eureka, stood metres above the rest with its glossy exterior.

3 thoughts on “Melbourne from a Rooftop”

  1. Wait, so even Sydney was not planned? Btw, I’m ashamed to admit that I’ve only started following you just now. I always thought I had clicked that “Follow” button! I’m going to visit Australia for the first time later this year. Fingers crossed the visa application process won’t be too much of a hassle.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good luck with your visa. Sydney may be the most beautiful location, but Melbourne is the best city in my view. Three of my favourite Auz places you won’t want to miss: The Twelve Apostles (see my posts on the Great Ocean Road); The Great Barrier Reef; and Uluru (once called Ayers Rock). Sorry my choices are all thousands of kilometres apart!

      Like

      1. Thanks Mallee. I only have one week, so I’m thinking of Sydney and Melbourne. I have a friend in Cairns, so I’ll go to the Great Barrier Reef one day when I visit him. As for Uluru, I was thinking of combining it with a visit to Darwin, but I was convinced to choose the two biggest cities instead.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

