A rock face with a story

Korea’s south-western town, Mokpo, was surrounded by sea on three sides. After arriving by train from Seoul, I walked a block from my hotel and couldn’t resist steps that rose to the top of Gatbawi Seacliff. From the top, Yeongsang or Yeongsangang River lay dotted with boats and fringed with high rise, but I was in for a bigger treat when I reached the boardwalk below.

Gatbawi meant a rock shaped like a traditional Korean hat. Once I circled the walkway, two granite boulders weathered from waves and salt, formed distinct hats. 

One legend behind these two gems was about a merchant who accidently dropped his dead father into the Yeongsang River and could no longer give him a proper burial. Consumed with guilt, he stood by the river wearing a traditional Korean hat until his own death. After his death, two rocks rose from the sea.

Another legend claimed that when Buddha and Arahan rested at the site, they left their hats behind which became the rocks.

This seaside location was at the quieter end of town and the hotel I stayed at had the most helpful owner. He had left his demanding job in Seoul and moved to Mokpo allowing him more time with his family, and especially his two children. Not only did he help me with information on the places I wanted to visit, but I was in for an even bigger surprise on the day I left.

2 thoughts on “A rock face with a story”

  1. Great piece, Mallee. I didn’t make it to Mokpo on either of my Korea trips, maybe next time if I ever make it back. The boulders are wonderfully unusual, the dead father legend typically surreal. But hey, why not. Glad to hear your hotel owner was a star. Curious to find out about the last day surprise…

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.