Con Dao’s azure ocean and a lesson learned (almost)

My last two days on Con Dao Island were devoted to the sea. Firstly, the boat sailed to a sheltered bay for snorkelling on one of Con Dao’s many reefs. We passed lush covered hills as we left the pier and, approaching a craggy stack, the boat bounded over waves. I should have taken Dive! Dive! Dive’s offer of a seasick tablet.

Still the reef beckoned, and I snorkeled over a wide variety of coral—staghorn, blue and table coral being the most common. Colourful fish rolled with the force of the waves. After lunch, we arched around to the next bay where the water was clearer. Although I kept my eyes on the horizon, I couldn’t supress the queasy sensation climbing up my throat. Still, I submerged myself back into the sea until I knew I couldn’t last another second. Just as I was about to climb up the ladder into the boat, oops, up came lunch.

The Dive! Dive! Dive! experience was great otherwise, but I can only blame myself because I hadn’t eaten a solid breakfast that usually curbs the queasy feeling, nor did I swallow a seasick tablet. It was a lesson I wouldn’t forget until my last trip to Korea on a ferry to an island off the country’s west coast.

Back at the local beach, it was great to be on solid ground again. A line of boats was tied to the pier near a long wide beach. There were only a few people about, so I planned to spend my last full day in Con Son on the beach.

The water was perfect and after each swim, I huddled in a bit of shade and people watched. Further along the beach a woman posed for at least fifteen minutes. She flung a brightly coloured fabric to the wind reminiscent of a Hindi movie where the female singer allowed the end of her sari to fly in the breeze. I couldn’t believe how patient her boyfriend was, complying to her every demand as she posed this way and that.

Closer at hand, I thought another couple were going for a swim but no, it was selfie time. They posed together, apart, she jumped in the air and when he finally put his camera down after taking at least twenty photos, she ran and retrieved it and repeated the process again. They hadn’t even gone into the pristine sea.

It was an entertaining afternoon both in and out of the sea. I was flying out the following afternoon, looking forward to reconnecting with Donny as I had booked another night in Ho Chi Minh City before I headed north. After six relaxing days on the island, unbeknown to me, I would never make it back to their Airbnb.

4 thoughts on “Con Dao’s azure ocean and a lesson learned (almost)”

  1. Well that’s a cliff hangar! Swimming usually helps me with seasickness, but I guess it didn’t for you. As for the selfie-takers, it always makes me want to go back to times when every picture was precious because it was on film. Maggie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sorry, but the cliff hanger was just a whole other story and coming up next. As much as I find the posing annoying, I wasn’t much of a photographer back in the print days, and I threw away photos without any replacement after I’d left a place never to return, so I’m grateful for the instant feedback on a photo.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.