Climbing Yudalsan Mountain and Dalseong Park

Mokpo’s Yudalsan Mountain was the last peak of Norjeong Mountain Range. It may have been only 228 metres above sea level, but the journey was packed with natural beauty. Balancing boulders, native forests and the sound of birds kept me climbing one step after another. Mokpo wasn’t a pretty city, but its location within hills and an arched coastline looked impressive at the top although a little daunting because it was a narrow summit, but there was a 360-degree view over the city and the sea beyond. 

Overhead, cable cars swung past before I headed to another part of Dalseong Park that was part of Yudalsan Mountain. Amidst the lush vegetation, I climbed stone steps into Daseongsa temple grounds. To the left was housed a brass bell with a wooden mallet firmly in place. Above was a prayer room housing a statue of Buddha amongst what I’m guessing were officials and scholars. Above hung tags suspended from paper lanterns—prayers requesting the bearers desires such as a pregnancy or maybe more money. There were two other beautiful buildings within the complex, but they were closed from the public on my visit.

It was easy to get lost in Dalseong Park because trails zigzagged through the site. Most had signs written in both Korean and English and gave the distance to the next highlight, but often it was hard to choose which way to go.

Next, I exited the park and followed the road around to the southeastern side outside one of the park’s entrances where there was a line of restaurants. After eating, I headed into the park again to pavilions that stood one above the other. 

Before I left Yudalsan Mountain, I crossed to Nojeokbong Peak set in manicured gardens opposite the pavilions. During the Imjin War of 1592 when Japan first invaded Korea, men made of straw had been stationed on this peak to trick the Japanese soldiers into thinking they were outnumbered, and the ploy had worked—the Japanese fled.

I left Mokpo the next morning to head to Busan and when I returned my room card, I was stunned because the hotel owner insisted on driving me to the bus station. Afterwards, I often wondered about him and his family because that visit had been just before Covid, and I hope his business managed to survive during that tough time.

3 thoughts on “Climbing Yudalsan Mountain and Dalseong Park”

  1. Looks like quite the hike up Yudalsan Mountain. Lovely greenery and that you got to admire some buildings and the temple. That was very nice of the hotel owner to drive you the bus station. Not often at all you get that kind of service. Like you, I hope he is doing well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh…I love it! Never visited Mokpo. 😦 It’s crazy the number of mountain trails scattered all around the country! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.