Scooter City

More than two millennia ago, the Thais and Viets were mixing with Indonesians and Chinese from the southern half of China. It wasn’t until 3rd century B.C. that a Chinese general recognized the region as a nation of Viets, and China soon invaded the region. Rebellions broke out over the next 900 years, one successfully led by a woman, but it wasn’t until the decline of the Tang Dynasty in the 10th century that the country ousted the Chinese and founded the Ngo Dynasty. Wars continued, but it was a time of growth when roads were built, and a postal service installed. During the Ming Dynasty, China invaded again seizing the country’s wealth from resources to human labour. It took until the 15th century before the Chinese were overthrown again and only a little more than another hundred years before Europeans cast their eyes on Vietnam’s shores.

I left five-degree Vancouver and arrived in Vietnam where I planned to spend the next seven weeks. In thirty-degree Ho Chi Minh City, I took a stroll to Ben Nghe River. Styrofoam mixed with water plants undulated when boats moved upstream. Fishers lined the walkway with their rods and nets while a vendor took a nap during her long hard day.

With a population of over nine million, crossing roads in HCM City was a challenge. While cars and scooters weaved around me ignoring the zebra crossings, the worst was to come. While I thought I was safe on the footpath, I soon learned I wasn’t. When traffic slowed, drivers zoomed their motor scooters on to the sidewalk. At one stage, I found myself squeezed between two scooters speeding in opposite directions along the footpath I walked. 

It was time to take a break from the traffic and visit the Botanic Gardens. They had been the brainchild of Pierre-Paul de la Grandiere who hoped to preserve flora and fauna as well as use the gardens for research. In 1864 land was set aside for the project. During my visit, nearly 2,000 trees grew in the gardens with 260 different species. 

I found a bench where I took in the beauty of a giant African mahogany, but it was a little unpleasant being confronted by the zoo. All through the gardens I couldn’t avoid enclosures where a variety of animals were housed, but at least a stork managed to forage in freedom.

2 thoughts on “Scooter City”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.